Kant Get No Satisfaction

So I’ve been doing some re-reading of philosophical texts, stuff I read back when I was an angst-ridden teenager and stuff I read for courses at the university (still angst-ridden). Parenthood has given me a new perspective on the meaning of life and junk and stuff, and is getting me doing some spring cleaning on my belief system. You know, throwing out the beliefs that I don’t need anymore, and polishing the ones that still work for me so I can put them on display for the world to see.

Truth be told, I have a very deep ambivalence to the study of philosophy. On one hand, I am a thinking person. Ever since I can remember myself, I was discussing major philosophical issues with myself. What exists, what is good, who am I, who are the people around me and so on and so forth. My everyday mundane choices are often determined by a philosophical debate of how the options work with my world view. You could say that there is a madness to my method, but that’s just who I am. On the other hand, because I take my philosophy so seriously and always seek to apply it to the real world, I would often come out of philosophy classes either frustrated that yet another great thinker turns out to have just come up with an elaborate tautology that doesn’t really have any implications on how we lead our lives, or utterly depressed because in class we just either disproved the very existence of life as we know it, or concluded that we are insignificant blobs of biological matter and nothing we do is really of any consequence anyway.

I’m really getting beside the point here. The point is after having started out with some lightweight fun in the form of “The Tao of Pooh” and “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance”, I decided to go for the big leagues with Immanuel Kant’s “Critique of Pure Reason”. Back in my wild days as a student, I didn’t get Kant. That may well have been because the professor who taught that specific course was monumentally boring and I hadn’t yet learned that knitting in class helps me listen. So essentially, I am challenging myself with something new. I’m really just a couple of pages into the introduction , but so far so good. I decided to pair up this challenge with another challenge. I am knitting a pair of socks, using actual sock yarn for the first time. It’s knitting up at a fine gauge of 26 sts/4″, as opposed to the much fatter yarns I had used in my previous endeavors. Also, I am knitting this pair using the Magic Loop technique, which is ten shades of awesome. I hate hate hate DPNs. Not having to ever use them again really sounds nice to me.

I thought it would be cool to have a knit&read-along with myself – I’m knitting while I’m reading the book. Yeah, I knit and read at the same time. I have very good control of my toes (that sounds even better than I was planning). I’m gaining the benefits of knitting sharpening my concentration, and racing myself to see what I finish first, with the hope that seeing as the book is quite long, I will be saved from the dreaded second-sock syndrome and end up with a whole pair.

The pattern is the Yarn Harlot‘s basic sock recipe from “Knitting Rules!”, the yarn is a 75% wool 25% nylon blend a shitload of which I picked up from a bargain bin in my favorite yarn store in Beer Sheva. The lucky feet are going to be my own.

And now I truly must be going. Yiftah is toddling around the living room without a diaper, and I know that if I don’t do something about it soon, there will be hell to pay.

1 Comment

Filed under Crafting Under Fire, Dare I Say Philosophy

One response to “Kant Get No Satisfaction

  1. This post is awesome.

    I hope you will write about your reading as it continues.

Leave a Reply

