A Disgrace

To all knitting philosophers. Or maybe philosophizing knitters. Whatever.

I’ve abandoned Kant. It took me 15 years, quite a lot of reading, a degree in philosophy, two kids, and a sock to realize that I don’t much like metaphysics. Upon closer introspection, I found that the big questions I am really asking myself are no longer whether we exist and what can we know, but these days mostly involve how we can be better people to each other and to the world we live in. Even if it’s an illusion. Gads, I dig ethics!

In the process of this realization, I have formed an actual opinion. Preferably everyone, but at least parents to be, should take a little pause to ponder upon the value of the Golden Rule. Find out what it means to you. Find out what would motivate you to practice it in your life. Do you need a punishing deity to get there? Do you need to think that we are all part of a single entity? Do you need to believe that every individual is absolutely other from you? Whatever floats your boat. Whatever makes you want to treat the rest of the world around you with the same respect that you would want to be treated with.

I know I’m going out on a limb here and sounding awfully New Age-y and stuff, but all I’m asking is to give occasional thought to the idea. You don’t have to be morally perfect. God knows I’m not. I’m not a bad person, but it is virtually impossible to keep everybody’s best interests in mind without going absolutely berserkers. However, if you do give a little bit of thought to the matter every so often, it will reflect on some of the things that you do. Little things. Those are the best. The way you act on the road. The choices you make when shopping. The way you act around your kids.

Instead of going into how much the world would be a better place, let’s direct our attention to knitting. The eye of partridge heel? I haz it. Mind you, after I was boasting my mad detective skillz here and redid it, I saw that it was still not working. After further investigation, I came to understand that my purportedly near-genius intellect could not wrap itself around the simple concept of slipping only one stitch and purling the rest of the row to the end on every other row. So I ripped the heel again and started it over. Lo and behold, this time it really worked!
After there was much rejoicement and cheer on my part, and I was about ready to turn the heel, I tried on the sock for what must have been the hundredth time at least. And out of the blue, all of a sudden, contrary to previous times, the sock was ginormously wide. Ugh.

Tal suggested I finish the sock and give it to Mom’s BF. But I couldn’t. This sock was going to be a learning experience. I had already failed the reading part, I wasn’t about to sell out with my knitting. So I took a lot of measurements, learned where it is best for me to measure for socks for myself, took a deep breath and ripped the little mofo all the way.

At present, the first sock has been re-knit up again, and I just have to kitchener the toe stitches and get on with the next toe.

As for Kant, seeing as now I am philosophizing outside of the realm of formal academia, I really don’t need to comply to any compulsory reading lists or what have you. So with all due respect, let’s just say that I understand what an important thinker he was, and that his work did indeed have a lot of influence on the evolution of contemporary thought. And I’m not reading him, though out of respect, he will remain on my bookshelf and not be traded off at the used bookstore for comics and music albums.

1 Comment

Filed under Crafting Under Fire, Dare I Say Philosophy

One response to “A Disgrace

  1. It’s good to feel the freedom to abandon a book (or anything else) if we don’t like it. Not everything we set out to do has to be treated like “till death do us part.”

    And this is how I feel about Ulysses. If Joyce can’t be bothered to write something people can understand, I can’t be bothered to waste my time on it.

Leave a Reply

