FYIs

I rock.

I’m having a series of good days. Kant’s socks are done, and many lessons have been learned from them about sock knitting in general, and the odd deformities of my feet in particular.
FO socks
So of course I feel accomplished enough to experiment with building my own pair of toe-up socks, with some bamboo yarn, which is also an experiment.
Bamboo Squared Socks
I am also in negotiations to score a significant amount of dyeable yarns. I’ve enrolled Yiftah to Neta’s daycare starting September, and I’m already smelling the freedom in the air.
To increase my levels of awesomeness, I baked some fabulous bread today, and decided that I’m not going to buy bread anymore.
Tasty bread gets eaten too fast to take pictures...
Here’s the recipe. I sorta winged it:
Preheat oven to 180C degrees, and mix
500 ml self-rising flour
500 ml whole wheat flour
330 ml pale lager
a pinch of salt
knead into dough, shape loaf as you wish (you can make it rounder or longer)
bake on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper – my oven got it right in 35 minutes
Yum.
My next experiment in breadmaking will involve freezing unbaked loaves so I can make a large amount and then pop a loaf in the oven as necessary.

I’m off to try to ride this high for as long as possible. At the moment, my world is a good one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafting Under Fire, Kiss the Cook

Leave a Reply

