Now there’s an amazing woman

On Tuesday night, Tal and I left the kids at my mom’s house and went out to see Dee Dee Bridgewater live at the Holon Theater, as a birthday gift from his parents. After driving up to Tel Aviv from Beer Sheva with both kids by myself, and two weeks of regression back to awful awful sleep at night, I was sure that I would fall asleep during the first ballad, and that would be it.

My acquaintance with Dee Dee Bridgewater so far was mostly through the album “Keeping Tradition” which holds an esteemed place in our 500-strong CD collection. From that I already knew that she is a vocal virtuoso and truly a jazz musician – many jazz singers often leave me feeling that they don’t really have the jazz in them, they just have nice voices and know how to do what they’re told. Female singers in particular often irritate me because they bring the diva pose onto stage with them, when they’re really just vocal technicians.

We managed to put the kids to sleep, get dressed, stop on the way for pizza at one of our old haunts, and hit the road for Holon. Getting to Holon: 15 minutes. Finding a parking spot in Holon: 50 minutes. Running to the theater only to find out that the web posting that the show starts at 21:30 was wrong and that we are in fact already 15 minutes late: priceless.

When we got to our seats, we were glad to find out that the show hadn’t actually started yet.

And then, the musicians take the stage, and start playing a jazzy intro. And then, in she walks, wearing a snakeskin print dress, rocking a bald head and huge blingy gold earrings, and she just brings the house down. What can I say? Such an amazing performer. Such a jazzy sex bomb. The voice, the moves, the attitude. She’s just got it all. And did we mention that she is exactly twice my age? I was born 3 days before her 29th birthday. So help me god if I’m half as awesome as she is now in 29 years.

I’m not going to go into anything more – I’m sure if you want a good review of Dee Dee Bridgewater you can easily find more than one written by people who actually understand what they’re talking about. All I can say is that personally, I was blown away and moved to bits by her.

Let me leave you with a little Dee Dee charm, then.

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment

Leave a Reply

